February 12, 2020
As I sit here this morning listening to the news, the talking heads are saying that for a campaign runner to win California they will have to through a ton of money at that state. I'm left wondering why has the presidential campaign turned into a money show? The more money a person has to through around the more likely they are to win the nomination. That isn't right. The person who wins the nomination should be the one most qualified to be the president, not the one who has the best money-machine.
Millionaires and billionaires are the last people qualified to be President. So why do people vote for them? I don't understand, it boggles my mind why someone would vote for an unqualified bazillionaire to be the President of the USA. To those who do vote for such people - don't you think about anything other than the words they are spewing? Since when have you been such a huge supporter of such people? Especially if you are not among their circle of personal friends. In what way do those people relate to you and your station in life?
Then there are the elderly people running for president. First, I will not vote for anyone over 60 years old. I don't care who they are, how much money they have, how much experience they have, who their relatives are/were. They could be starting a stint of 4 years, possibly 8 years, in possibly the most stressful job possible. And while in that job they are also slowly losing their mental capacities. Yes, that will happen to every one of us, like it or not. I'm not too far from that part of life. I'm not 40 anymore, those old people running for president might appear "well and good" in their TV ads, but what will happen in 2, 3, 4 years when they are not thinking so clearly? I think the answer is clear, just look at the guy sitting on his fat butt in the Oval Office right now.
What happened to the Republican Party? My late wife, Cheryl, was a registered Republican, and I think she would be beside herself in disbelief by what they have turned into. The Republican Party has turned completely away from their roots and turned their backs on the constitution and on their own oath of office. Their job is not to defend the President, it is to defend the constitution. That appears to be the last thing they are interested in doing at this time.
This is only my complaints about politics in the US, I am also going to posit a few changes I think would be worthwhile in light of how things have turned these past 4 years.
The Fool On The Hill right now is beyond anything our country has ever seen. He has taken everything the Presidency represents and has thrown it out the window. Is that what you wanted when you voted for him? I certainly hope not. But you got what you apparently wanted - a rich, indecent, out-of-touch, not-the-brightest-candle-on-the-shelf President who has upended the US and destroyed everything we stand for and our reputation among the countries of the world. If you agree with all that and think he is such a great guy you will vote for him again and I think that would be a shameful thing to do, to continue the flushing of the USA down the toilet.
At the top I expressed my feelings in regards to elderly people and millionaires running for President. So who will I vote for? Not an elderly person and not a millionaire. This year, anyone will be better than the current Fool On The Hill, but not another elderly person and certainly not another millionaire.
I used to teach English as a foreign language in Barranquilla, Colombia. Now I'm retired and traveling throughout South America.
I'm from Kennewick, Washington, USA. In my previous life, as I call it, I was an IT guy, systems administrator, computer tech, as well as a shipping/receiving guy and also worked as a merchandising guy in a RV/Camping store.